An Unlikely Advocate

At first glance, I’m an unlikely candidate to write a blog post in support of the National Writing Project (NWP). I haven’t attended an NWP institute, or even a workshop. I teach writing, but with a fair amount of fear and trembling. I’ve even written posts about how I hate writing (which is likely just code for- writing scares me).

What I do know is that the people who have consistently encouraged, gently goaded, and offered feedback on my writing are vocal advocates for the NWP. They believe passionately in the work of the NWP and speak powerfully about its impact on them. Folks like Paul, Zac, JimCarol, and Bud. Because of these and others, I’ve written more and dreaded it less in the past two years than in any period I can remember. Not to say that it’s all been pleasant; writing’s hard work, but I’m confident all that writing has made me a better teacher.

I’d like to have the opportunity to attend an NWP Summer Institute, but the elimination of federal funding for NWP threatens that future possibility for me and other teachers like me. If you’re interested in advocating on behalf of NWP or learning more, check out Bud’s tips for making your voice heard. Thanks to Chad for organizing the #blog4NWP effort.

2 thoughts on “An Unlikely Advocate

Leave a Reply

