Lessons Learned

Three weeks ago I handed over my phone and computer to a friend for Thursday night to Saturday night. (The time corresponded with Maundy Thursday through the end of the Easter Vigil.) I don’t have a TV or landline, so with the exception of the radio, it was pretty monastic. I avoided showing up at my friend’s doorstep and begging for my phone, although I did whine about it a couple times when I saw him over the weekend.

Some reflections on the experience…

If you can’t be strong for yourself, find someone else to be strong for you
I’ve never been particularly disciplined. I’ve discovered that if I want to accomplish something that’s going to be difficult I usually have to find someone to help or at least tell people, so they can hold me accountable. In this case, I gave my electronics to an incredibly stubborn person (his words, not mine :)) In my darker moments when I was trying to think of ways to get around my self-imposed electronic exile, it was reassuring to be able to say to myself, “There’s no way JR is handing them back to you, so start thinking about something else.”

It’s not the technology. It’s the way you use it
Lo and behold, even without my phone or computer, I was still completely capable of being a master procrastinator. The procrastination though was generally of a more useful manner or at least there were more tangible results. Instead of grading tests, I mowed or read or folded laundry.

Technology giveth time and technology taketh away
The biggest annoyance of the weekend was when I drove 30minutes away to get my hair cut only to discover that the stylist had gotten ill. I’d scheduled the hair cut to give me something to do not tech-related and instead I ended up wasting an hour’s worth of gas. As much as I wanted to be angry or annoyed at the salon, I couldn’t because they had called me 😐

I also gained a lot of time over the weekend. Time I would have spent mindlessly checking tweets or refreshing GMail. The time also felt different. I had a clock, but I think in general I was much less conscious of time than I typically am. It was good preparation for Easter.

If you get away from the internet, the incoming stream slows down
When my gadgets were returned to me, I had about 45 emails that I actually cared about, maybe 20 of those were addressed to me personally. While that may sound like a lot, it was actually fewer than I was expecting. I discovered that when you take yourself out of the conversation, the conversation slows down.

5 thoughts on “Lessons Learned

  1. “…the conversation slows down”, and your friends miss you. 🙂

    My speeding brain is what slows down.

    Bad news about the procrastination, though. I’d prefer to blame mine on my technology toys & tools.

  2. This was very interesting because my teacher, Mr. Goerend, was just complaining of not having Internet for about 5 minutes! I don’t blame him though because I wouldn’t be able to do it either. Only a strong willed person with perseverance of steel would be able to give up their “toys”.

    • Thanks for you comment, Ian. Your teacher and I both spend a lot of time on the internet. Mostly that’s a really good thing because we learn new information and connect with really cool people. Sometimes, though, it can become a bit addicting. It’s amazing how much the technology we use has changed our lives. I mostly take it for granted until I don’t have it.

    • I’d read your posts, Derrick. You were way more Zen about it than I would have been. I was hoping that you’d be reunited with your phone 😦

Leave a Reply

