Teachers Learn, Too!

Cross-posted from my 6th grade English and History class blog

Today I created a screencast to explain an assignment to my Upper Schooler students and then embedded it in their class blog. That doesn’t sound like such a big deal, and it wasn’t. Creating the screencast, linking to some websites, writing the post, and publishing it took about 15 minutes. After I clicked publish and viewed the post to make sure everything looked ok, I thought, Wow! That felt really easy, but a year or two ago, that would have taken me a lot of time and effort. I probably would have had to ask Mr. Morris for help at some point. The neat thing that I realized was that I had learned something. This seems kind of obvious, but it was cool to realize that all the effort I’d put into trying (and sometimes failing) to post things to my blogs was starting to pay off. I was able to do those things without having to think or struggle nearly as much.

When babies learn how to crawl, walk, and speak, the adults around them get really excited and take notice (and a lot of pictures!). But people often spend less time noticing what they and others have learned, especially when they get really old, like 30 đŸ™‚

First Steps (Edited)

Once you’ve realized you’ve  learned something, you might be tempted to sit back and congratulate yourself, but there are always ways to figure out how to do something better or learn something new. That’s one of the things I like about being a teacher- I get paid to learn! Learning’s not just for teachers or students. You can keep learning at any age or any job, you just have to make the choice.

So, what’s something you’ve realized that you’ve learned to do recently?

2 thoughts on “Teachers Learn, Too!

  1. Cross country ski without sliding backwards all the time. Climbing overhangs. Sports stuff I know, but so good to be in the learning mindset and continually remember what it’s like to NOT know, to empathize with the little humiliations and also the joy of getting it.

    Thanks for reminding me!

  2. My biggest learning moments lately have come from knitting projects I didn’t think I could a few years ago. I wish I could come up with something more profound, but all I can say is learning is awesome and my number one goal is to show students this fact.

Leave a Reply

