Dichotomy of Writing

Today’s the National Day of Writing. The National Writing Project is encouraging people to tweet the reasons they write with the hashtag #whyIwrite

Writing is strange in the sense that it has the potential to be both one of the most anxiety provoking and anxiety relieving actions for me. I think much of it is related to audience, which I both crave and abhor. When someone suggests that a group should write together, I have to breathe deeply to quell the urge to bolt from the room. As much as that kind of potential audience makes my heart pound, there are few things better than clicking send or publish and receiving the response, “Yes, I hear you. I have felt this, too” or “I wonder…”

P.S. If you’re looking for something to read on the subject of writing, I highly recommend Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird. I love her voice and how real and honest her writing feels.

Leave a Reply

