Sites and Apps Students Are Using

As a teacher, one of my goals for this year is to know my students better. I’m not a big fan of get to know you sorts of games, but I hoped that an interesting question might create some space for learning more about my students.

To that end, I asked students in my high school US History class to choose 3 or 4 web sites or apps they use frequently and to consider what sort of information a historian 50 years from now might conclude about them based on those sites or apps.

The information students shared and their reflections helped give me a better sense of them as people, in addition to students. I’m also interested in the way that sites that seemed to be very popular a year or two ago (most prominently Facebook) seem to be waning.

4 thoughts on “Sites and Apps Students Are Using

  1. Love this idea! What a great way to get to know students, get a feel for their comfort level with technology, and tie it all in with your content. Brilliant! I’ll likely steal….

  2. This is a fantastic idea! I did the “Google Yourself” challenge with my Grade 12’s at the beginning of the year. I think I’ll do something like this for Semester 2 when about half of my students are new.

Leave a Reply

