Behold the Quarter Grab

The quarter grab is one of our stranger family holiday traditions. (It might be more aptly called the quarter fling.) No one can remember the exact date of its inception, but consensus is it started around 1998. My dad started collecting quarters in a gallon bucket and every year each of the three children has the opportunity to stick her hand in and see how many quarters she can fling out. No tipping of the bucket is allowed. My dad steadies the bucket but tucks his head to prevent injury. After each sister’s turn, the quarters are replaced. Participants get to keep the amount that she flings out up to a $75 cap. If she chooses not to participate in the quarter grab, she gets $60, but if she chooses to participate and flings out less than $60, she only gets that amount.

I am the reigning champion of the quarter grab. I attribute my prowess to my willingness to endure the pain of jamming my hand far down in the bucket. My all-time record is disputed but is somewhere in the range of $112-$117. Check out the video below to see this year’s total…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Happy Holidays!

4 thoughts on “Behold the Quarter Grab

  1. This is phenomenal. How many years did it take for the grab to involve to the fling? Did the fling immediately lead into the attempted tip?

    I’m fascinated by the metagame for this. Thanks for sharing!

  2. You know I think the fling existed from the first. When the tradition was introduced, we had a discussion about what the most effective method might be. I don’t think anyone’s ever tried to tip it; that was just one of the ground rules my dad laid out at the beginning.

  3. I am still laughing hysterically! What a cool thing to look forward to every year! If nothing else, you make my family holiday traditions seem more normal. This year our annual tacky contest was who could bring the tackiest gingerbread house! Thanks for sharing your fun!

Leave a Reply

